Musical Maestros Jon Batiste and Daniel Pemberton Receive Prestigious Honors!

ASCAP Composers’ Choice Awards for 2024 have been announced, and the winners are some of the most talented composers in the industry. The prestigious awards were presented at the ASCAP Screen Music Awards in Los Angeles on May 9.

Here are the winners of the ASCAP Composers’ Choice Awards for this year:

Film score of the year: Daniel Pemberton for Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse

Television score of the year: David Fleming for The Last of Us

Television theme of the year: Siddhartha Khosla for Only Murders in the Building

Documentary score of the year: Jon Batiste for American Symphony

Video game score of the year: Gordy Haab for Star Wars Jedi: Survivor

Both Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse and American Symphony were considered for Oscars for best original score but did not receive nominations. Batiste was nominated for an Oscar for co-writing a song from American Symphony titled “It Never Went Away.”

Khosla received two Primetime Emmy nominations in 2022 for Only Murders in the Building but did not receive any this past year. Fleming has yet to be nominated for a Primetime Emmy.

The ASCAP Screen Music Awards also recognize composers of hit streaming series and films from the past year. Some of the top-rated streaming series winners include Robert Duncan for The Night Agent, Natalie Holt for Loki, Bear McCreary for Percy Jackson and the Olympians, and Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis for Unprisoned.

Among the top-rated streaming films winners are Germaine Franco for The Mother, Marcus Miller for Candy Cane Lane, and Lorne Balfe for Tetris and Ghosted.

In other categories, Pemberton won top box office film of the year for Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse, and David Vanacore was named the top most performed themes and underscore winner for shows like Survivor, The Kardashians, and The Daily Show.

Composers Matthew Hawkins, Maurice “m.o.” Jackson, and Neil Martin (Numeriklab) won top network television series for their main theme for NCIS, while John Sereda was recognized for top cable television series for When Calls the Heart.

The complete list of winners can be found on the ASCAP website here.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *